Working Groups

Folk Camps’ Working Groups comprise Council members and carry out work on specific aspects of the society’s operations. Some groups also include additional volunteer Governing Members; these are indicated below. All groups report to Folk Camps Council of Management.

Finance Working Group

Co-ordinator: Kerstin Jewell (Interim Administration Manager)

Members: Chairperson (Marcus de Frettes), Company Secretary (Anne Guthrie), Patrick Self, Claire Mycock.

This group manages the general income including booking fees, costs of equipment, services and contractors and contingency costs and is responsible for oversight of the financial work  by the Administration Manager (including review of monthly finance: bank statements and reconciliation in book-keeping software). The Working group is responsible for issuing monthly finance figures and annual accounts to Council members.

Marketing And Communications Group

Co-ordinator: Sue Malleson

Members: Mel Horton, Becks Boram, Patrick Self, Marcus de Frettes (consultative), Paul Weir (consultative), Sarah Malleson (Governing Member), Anthony Keen (Extent)

The Marketing Group is responsible for publicity and marketing, use of a variety of media, including email marketing to existing members and contacts, and the publication of Extent, Folk Camp’s magazine.  The group is grateful to receive photographs which show aspects of folk camping and testimonials which can be used as marketing resources.

Folk Camps currently has a presence on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Staffing Working Group

Co-ordinator: Paul Weir

Members: Jenny Hopper, Steve Porritt, Mic Spenceley (craft break, dance & musicians weekends)

The group is responsible for organising and allocating volunteer staff positions at the various camps, feedback from and to those who have staffed, appointment of apprentice staff and from time to time organising staff training events. Group members are always keen to receive recommendations from camps for potential staff members.

Catering Working Group

Co-ordinator: Jenny Hopper (Provisions Contractor)

Members: Anne Guthrie, Mel Horton, Liz Cooper (Governing Member), Chris White (Governing Member – catering staffing coordinator)

This group maintains up-to-date menus, reviews annually suggestions from caterers and campers and liaises closely with the Provisions Contractor. The Catering group approves the final form of the Caterers’ Manual/Menus Folders distributed to the caterers by the Administration Manager. Members of the group always welcome suggestions from both campers and volunteer camp staff.

Health and Safety Working Group

Co-ordinator: Becks Boram

Members: Claire Mycock, Patrick Self, Graham Clements, Lou Tribus (Governing Member) , Jenny Hopper (catering only)

This group has overview of all health and safety matters and works with the Company Safety Adviser assisting the Council to fulfil its obligations for the effective implementation of health and safety matters. It ensures that Health & Safety is considered at all Council meetings and that the Health & Safety Policy is updated each year and completely reviewed every two years. The group also has the responsibility to ensure that new and up-dated information is included in management manuals.

Development Fund & Bursary Working Group

Co-ordinator: Interim Administration Manager (Kerstin Jewell)

Members: Patrick Self, Mel Horton, Jacqueline Beattie (Governing Member),  Tony Mealings (Governing Member)

This group considers applications to the Folk Camps Development Fund. It makes grants to Governing Members for folk-based projects which fulfil the Society’s mission as an educational charity to preserve and promote traditional music, song, dance and games.  The Development Fund also awards bursaries for ‘almost-fully-funded’ places at Folk Camps. Governing Members, or their children, are encouraged to submit projects for consideration by the group.

Contractor Liaison Working Group

Co-ordinator: Patrick Self
Members: Anthony Keen, Becks Boram

This group is responsible for on-going liaison with the Contractors that carry out day to day operations of Folk Camps. With the co-operation of the Contractors, the group to identifies where efficiencies or changes could simplify or provide better value for Folk Camps. The Contractor Liaison group also advises Council on the performance of its Contractors.

Information and Communication Technology Working Group

Co-ordinator: Patrick Self

Members: Becks Boram, Marcus de Frettes, Paul Weir, Stuart Beattie (Governing Member)

The ICT Working group is responsible for the various technology tools used by Contractors and Council members and voluntary staff. It ensures that Folk Camps information is held securely and shared appropriately in accordance with the principles of the General Data Protection Regulations. The group documents ICT procedures and manages the technology for the website.

Outreach Working Group – Scoping

Co-ordinator: Mel Horton

Members: Sue Malleson, Claire Mycock, Tony Mealings (Governing Member)

This group considers the outreach ideas, discussed at 2019 Annual General Meeting, and how to take forward initiatives which further the Society’s mission but which do not fall within the remit of the Development Fund & Bursary Working Group.

See more about running Folk Camps.